To everything, there is a season

Leave a comment

March 25, 2014 by Jena

Today my mom bought her first house!  We grew up in a family owned home and they lived there for 32+ years.  In October of 2012 my dad passed away from cancer and she and one of my younger brothers have been living there since.  It’s a very old home, like built in the 1800’s old, and needs a lot of upkeep.  It was really too much home for her.  Not to mention the fact that she has wanted to move for some time now.

We are visiting next week and we are all very excited to see the place and help her move in.  Visiting should be much easier, too – as she has the space and the multiple bathrooms to accommodate all of us!

But, as I expected, there are some mixed emotions.  She is leaving my childhood home – where we won’t get to go back to.  It’s a weird feeling.  A loss of sorts.  That I am not sure how to deal with….

Luckily, I am so happy for her, I don’t think it will be too hard to get over.

Leave a comment